this week

I tested our stove for oatmeal-making ability. It passed with flying colors.

Aside: how great is that new counter-top compared to our old 70s blue counter?

On our way to BWI on Monday, I wondered out loud whether we would pass the DC temple. Almost immediately after, we noticed the spires beyond the foliage on the left side of the road. It’s definitely more stunning when you come from the other direction and I wish that streetlight below didn’t exist. The temple is still gorgeous, though, and I’m excited that it is ours.

For Christmas, Jason bought me Just My Type, described by Amazon as: “a hugely entertaining and revealing guide to the history of type that asks, ‘What does your favorite font say about you?'”

I am enjoying it, though I do not yet know what my favorite font says about me. Above: the periodic table of fonts. Helvetica = Hydrogen = #1!

While in Lexington, I have developed a serious nightly hot chocolate habit. I’m not picky, just as long as peppermint is involved. Whipped cream is optional.

Last night I took a break from Frutiger and Caslon and started Object of Beauty. I like it so far, but I need to hurry and finish before next Thursday.

Remember how it’s supposed to be winter time? This is the view from my office window: green grass, blue skies, and enough sunlight for two thriving plants (neither of which belong to me).

This didn’t happen this week, but Mary posted pics from her wedding and I had to steal these. Makes me miss her and realize I am totally dreading making new friends in Virginia.