these happy emerald* years

We celebrated Jason’s grandparents’ fifty-fifth (!) anniversary on Saturday when we were in CT. We all got together for lunch, then had cake afterward at Maureen and Fran’s.

20120731-120442.jpg

20120731-120451.jpg

Funny and Bill with their cake (which was mighty delicious).
20120731-120507.jpg
20120731-120516.jpg

Jen and me, post-lunch, cake, and Kelley’s amazing chocolate cookies. I love spending time with the Cmara girls.
20120731-120533.jpg

I met Grandma Funny and Grandpa Bill after Jason and I were already married, when we went to New England for our honeymoon and second reception. When my parents came to town for the reception, Grandma and Grandpa hosted them (despite not knowing Mom and Dad from Adam). That meant a lot to me at the time, and I’ve grown to love Grandma and Grandpa so much over the last three years.

Jason and I sat with Grandpa at Christmas dinner in 2010; he told us stories from when he was in the navy, which was fun for us–and maybe fun for him, because it can be hard to get a word in edgewise. Whenever we visit, Grandma overfeeds us and makes us laugh. She and Bill are two of the warmest, kindest people I have ever met, and I’m so glad we happened to be in town to celebrate with them.

*I consulted the internet and discovered that the fifty-fifth wedding anniversary is either emerald (traditional) or turquoise (modern). These seem like a little bit of a letdown after gold for the fiftieth, but I didn’t make it up.

Leave a Reply

