essential summer fare

We started the weekend off right with a Trader Joe’s run on Friday night. The plan was to pick up stuff for the week…and maybe a little frozen treat (a.k.a. the highly addictive ice cream sandwiched between two chocolate chip cookies and rolled in mini chocolate chips, available in the freezer section). To our dismay, there were no such ice cream sandwich cookies to be found; apparently the rest of Trader Joe’s target demographic had the same idea. Instead, we picked up some s’more ice cream sandwiches.

20120806-101756.jpg

Now, I’ve always been a s’more girl, and thus had high expectations. These little sandwiches exceeded those expectations. Good stuff.

We slept in on Saturday and did our grocery shopping. Jason read. I finished One Hundred Years of Solitude.
20120806-164417.jpg

For dinner, we picked up Boston Market and watched Netflix. We also spent a while on FaceTime with my parents hashing out trip plans (three more days!).

On Sunday I tried a new recipe for crockpot Chicken Vindaloo, which I had a month or so ago at Cafe Taj and loved. I tweaked the recipe a little bit by leaving out the green beans and adding multi-colored new potatoes (including a purple one), a sweet potato, carrots, some red wine vinegar, and a whole lot of crushed red pepper. The dish delivered in a big way and made our apartment smell amazing. After dinner I made chocolate chip cookies and we went to see my friend Colette’s new baby (so ridiculously cute).

20120806-101804.jpg

This was the maiden voyage of my birthday cookie sheet. High marks all around.

Upon arriving home we ate more chocolate chip cookies, FaceTime-ed with Jason’s fam, and read. Then Jason worked on his talk for this Sunday, which made me feel guilty about not having started mine yet, so I thought about it until I fell asleep. That’s the same thing as preparing it, right?

One thought on “essential summer fare

  1. I ended up LOVING On Hundred Years of Solitude, but it took me months to read. Upon complaining that it was taking me ages to complete, Randi said, “Well, it SOUNDS like the most boring book ever.” Which is true. It does sound boring to read about a century of solitude.

Leave a Reply

